Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can lead to serious repercussions. Not only is it against the law but the driver can cause serious injuries, not only to himself but to others as well. It is important to know what makes up a DUI and what kind of penalties exist in the state of Wisconsin.
In the state of Wisconsin, a person driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more is considered unsafe and the driver is under the influence of a substance. A driver is considered to be under the influence when their abilities to drive a car or any kind of motor vehicle have been impaired. If the person is under the influence when driving, then it reduces their chances of taking the proper precautions and they immediately become a hazard to themselves, their passengers and others on the road.
Wisconsin has a series of penalties for drivers who are running a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) by either drugs or alcohol. Every person must send an evaluation that tests their levels of drugs and alcohol. This will be used to see if the driver requires education or further tests to create the proper safety plans for his or her driving.
Furthermore, the driver might be subjected to community service. A judge can execute the sentence for 30 days as opposed to jail time. The driver might also be on probation, as well. However, a person with a 3rd offense, the judge will likely give this person 14 days of jail time.
Knowing what a DUI entails and how it can affect drivers in the state of Wisconsin can help people from driving irresponsibly and further hurting people, or themselves, down the road.