To have a driver license in Wisconsin, a person must meet the following requirements:

1. Are at least 16 years of age.

2. Present proof of U.S.citizenship, legal immigration status or legal temporary visitor status in the U.S., such as a: 

Certified copy of your U.S.birth certificate; 

Valid U.S.passport; 

Valid foreign passport with appropriate immigration documents.

All documents presented as proof must be original. Photocopies are not acceptable.

3. Present proof of your name and date of birth, such as a:

Certified copy of your U.S.birth certificate; 

Valid U.S.passport; 

Valid foreign passport with federal I-551 or I-94, arrival and departure record.

Note: Hospital birth certificates, notification of birth registration or baptismal certificates are not acceptable. Get a certified copy of your birth certificate at the Register of Deeds in the county where you were born.

4. Present proof of your identity, such as a:

Social Security card with your signature; 

Valid Wisconsin or out-of-state ID card with your photograph; 

U.S. Military ID card with your photograph.

5. Present proof of your Wisconsin residency, such as a:

Utility bill for water, gas, electricity or land-line telephone service with your name and Wisconsin address; 

Bank statement from a Wisconsin bank with your name and Wisconsin address.

6. Present proof of your Social Security Number, such as a:

Social Security Card; 

W-2 form including your name, address and Social Security Number.

Currently you can provide your Social Security Number without presenting proof of it to apply for a driver license that is not compliant with REAL ID requirements. If you are not eligible for a Social Security Number, you must sign a Social Security Number non-eligibility certification statement.

For a complete list of acceptable documents (DMV) website at

7. Are under 18:

And have successfully completed an approved driver education course.

And have an adult sponsor (your parent or legal guardian) certify their sponsorship on your application.

8. Pass required driver license tests.

New Wisconsin residents with a license from another state (which is valid or expired less than 8 years) may be able to get a Wisconsin license without taking the knowledge or skills tests.

9. Turn in any driver license and/or identification card issued in another state.

10. Are not suspended or revoked in another state.

11. Meet the physical and medical requirements for the type of driver license for which you are applying.

12. Pay required fees.

You must carry your driver license with you while operating a motor vehicle. If your license is lost or stolen, you must obtain a duplicate license.

Source: Wisconsin Department Of Transportation Motorists’ Handbook

McCormick Law Office in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.