Workers who are injured at work usually rely on workers’ compensation coverage to get their medical bills covered. They also rely on this program to pay them partial wage replacement while they are off work because of the injury. Understanding the workers’ compensation work flow can help people who need file claims.
When should I report an injury to my employer?
You have to report the injury to your employer. You should usually do this within 30 days, but it is sometimes possible to make the report within 2 years to maintain eligibility for workers’ compensation. There are some instances in which you can have a longer period of time to report the injury. If the employer should have known about the injury, you have 12 years to report the injury. It is sometimes possible for the statute of limitations to be void, such as if your injury was one that is a specific traumatic injury or if you suffered from a workplace illness.
Can workers’ compensation claims be disputed?
It is possible to dispute workers’ compensation decisions. You have 12 years to do this after the date of last compensation payment or from the date on which the injury occurred. You would do this via a request for a hearing. Once you have a hearing and a decision is made, you can appeal to the Labor Industry Review Commission. From there, the appeal ladder includes the Circuit Court, the Court of Appeals, and the Wisconsin Supreme Court.
Understanding the statues of limitations that apply to workers’ compensation cases can be difficult. Seeking out answers to any questions you have can help you to learn what you need to know.
Source: State of Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development, “Worker’s Compensation Claim Flow,” accessed July 29, 2016