There are a lot of dangerous jobs in Wisconsin, but even relatively safe jobs can cause injury or illness. If a person is no longer able to work because of a disability or other injury, workers’ compensation allowances help them recover, and workers’ compensation insurance helps employers meet their obligations.
How long do I have to claim workers’ compensation benefits?
Wisconsin state law requires injured or sickened workers to notify their employers of an intention to claim workers’ compensation within 30 days of an injury or the discovery of a medical problem. If this requirement is met, the employee has up to 12 years to claim the appropriate compensation.
How much can I expect from a workers’ compensation claim?
A worker suffering total disability, or a complete inability to perform work as hired, may receive up to two-thirds of their normal earnings, calculated as a weekly average, while the disability persists. A partial disability allows compensation calculated by a person’s new level of ability to work.
What about mental or psychological issues?
Wisconsin law allows doctors to consider mental injury on the job as a basis for workers’ compensation benefits. A 1974 case is often cited as the legal precedent to allow workers to claim benefits for mental injury.
Can I choose my own doctor to diagnose or treat a work-related injury?
Employees may choose their own doctor, and it may be equally as important for employees to choose a good lawyer. An attorney can help file an initial claim and fight for a worker’s rights if a claim is denied.